The Musketeers : Emilie

I don’t get why we had a break between the two episodes but we did. I’ve been told there might be another break between this episode and the next.

If anything what it has done is kill the steam the series had going for it. But how much?

This was the first episode that I think I blanked out a little whilst watching. I watched the whole beginning of it but missed the last 5-7 minutes after being distracted by Anna and her witterings.

The episode was a less action packed fare with the drama coming from the building tensions between Spain and France.

Emilie is a young lady who is seeing visions, her visions tell her that the King of Spain is the anti-Christ. Aramis goes to investigate. The others shift in and out of various plot strands, d’Artagnan and Constance discuss Milady, Milady lays the love bomb on Athos and Porthos has a second of “whose my daddy” before going back to being unwanted.

Again all the drama is away from the Musketeers themselves and seems to centre mainly on Rochefort and the Royals.

Aramis does get a bit of a better run of things this week, no longer is he just smitten with his baby he actually goes to do something, but it still felt like more of a reason to have Aramis and Anne snog each other half way through the episode.

As I said I gave up by the end of it. I just felt like everything that made it a interesting show had been left out of the episode.

It doesn’t help that I nearly forgot it was on so was actually in the middle of something else before remembering I was meant to watch it. And by the time I’ve posted this you can tell that everything else in the world became more important then to talk about it. Which has been weird for this season as I’ve been fast to jump on the “alls good” bandwagon for the most part.

I did like the story, Emilie was a interesting character but it felt like her character got lost from time to time in the middle of a load of other stories.

It seems that Rochefort and Milady are now the main threats as the Spanish ambassador and his cocky little side kick both kick the bucket this week, his little friend in a gruesome way. Whether Rochefort keeps his end of the bargain or whether he uses his blackmail skills on Milady more is yet to be seen. What Milady is up to in general is yet to be seen. And lets face it I don’t see why she’d hide her scars from being hung she’d just make a new story up.

In fact it would be perfect for setting up the Musketeers even more. Just tell the King who only has eyes for her that Athos tried to hang her for no reason and that’ll probably be the final nail in the coffin for the Musketeers.

Probably in a better way then it’ll come to.

I didn’t get why Treville was being held accountable for the forged letter from Rochefort, I’m not even sure what the King was bellowing about half the time, and why the hell didn’t the Queen just admit what she’d done?! After all she’d promised Emilie she would and she usually doesn’t back down.

The characters seem to have gone a bit funny and off kelter. I can hardly recognise some of them.

What I want when it comes back (is there a break?! as I said I didn’t watch the end as Anna in all her wisdom had sent me a link to a Knight Rider sketch for some reason and then wanted to show me pictures she’d drawn of Decim from Death Parade) I just want a bloody episode with the Musketeers! Is it too hard to ask that some of that brotherly action filled love episodes could start popping up? I don’t care about the King and his affair anymore, it doesn’t need half as much time as it’ll probably get now because we’ve had it set up and we know about it, I don’t want to see Milady skipping about looking all pleased with herself. I’d rather see more like the scenes in the bar when Athos and d’Artagnan were talking to each other.

This week has left me disappointed. I’m hoping it comes back stronger.

Talk to us!