Back in Time… RAW 1st April 1996

So this series will be a 5 Things… with a little difference to it. I’m going to do my best to go through the Attitude Era and decided to start after the ’96 WrestleMania. It’ll be a weekly thing hopefully, should be fun.

Mankind Debuts…

Right off the bat we get Mankind. He has a pretty decent match with Bob “Spark Plug” Holly, yeah I will always remember the racing driver Bob Holly, which really was a chance for McMahon and Lawler to tell us constantly how deranged and weird Mankind is. From the pig squealing to the pulling of the hair, I remember as a kid not really ever seeing anything like it and it intrigued me.

I mean we had Taker but Taker was never really scary for me. He was cool and whilst Bearer was a bit darker Mankind for me was the first real “actually that is a bit terrifying” wrestler that I saw. His style and even his music just made him a scary person to watch.

Shawn Michaels Promo

As a kid I liked Michaels until he left and came back then for some reason I just hated him and I’ve continued to dislike him. Its tainted my view of him from my childhood but moments like this remind me why I kinda liked him when I was 7. The fact that Jerry “The King” Lawler was seen as a semi-threat was funny in hindsight and building up the bubbling Michaels/Nash was interesting.

Shawn Michaels Mat Plaque…

I thought I’d let you know there is one going on eBay for £699.90. Its shipping from France. Feel like messaging them and finding out if they actually brought it originally or if they got it from somewhere else. That would be interesting to find out.

Taker beats up Cowboy JBL

Before he was a acolyte, before he was the longest reigning SmackDown champion, before he was outed allegedly as a bully backstage and pissed everyone off on commentary every week, Bradshaw was a smiling cowboy who up until this point was apparently undefeated and only didn’t stay that way due to a DQ finish when Mankind, the new threat to the Deadman after his feud with Big Daddy Cool ended, made his intentions known.

What a main event for this RAW.

Constant reminders that Roddy Piper and Goldust hate each other…

It was never on the actual show but the Slam of the Week AND a whole promo package was hyping up the entire feud. Remember that time them two hated each other? I didn’t. I don’t think I want too either.

HONOURABLE MENTION…

This week I have two.

First up to Sunny, I always forget how easy she made it for me to hate her. She was just so annoying.

Second was to the lost art of Managers. Bradsaw had one, Taker obviously had one and Sunny herself was one. The Goodwins had one… I loved managers,  I wanted to be one. Its just fun having them at ring side even if they don’t do anything.

Talk to us!