365 Challenge : Trading Places

Have I ever thought of being a woman and what differences would I think I’d experience if I became one for a day?

To be honest in the space of a day you aren’t going to have much of a difference. Maybe less hassle in general personally.

The question was perfectly suited for Anna who is non-binary and would love to have had a long rant about gender so as a gender fluid person I’ll give it a shot.

Two different questions within one. Are we talking about being a female biologically or as in being of the female gender. Its two different things that many people don’t realise and that is where so much confusion over the “other genders” comes from. Biologically its obvious there are two different sexes but it is only humans that have assigned names to them and along with the names then assigned “ways of living.”

That is where the middle ground comes in.

Biologically there would probably be a lot of things you’d notice even in a day being different. A biologically female body has obviously different parts to it then a male one. I doubt it would really be that much to get over the initial shock and in one day the aches and pains of having to get used to said body would never be a problem. Over a longer period of time obvious biologically female functions and the need to get used to the body and difference in build would come into play but not in a day.

If we’re talking about mentally actually BECOMING female as a gender then for me it wouldn’t, again, prove too much difficulty. I’m gender fluid so I’m neither one nor the other but both at the same time, kind of. If anything I think it would come more of a shock for someone like Anna who might be biologically female but mentally is neither.

Then again if this is a thought exercise meant to make males think about what females go through on a day to day business (and vice versa) then again a day isn’t enough to make you notice anything. Over a longer period I might find discrimination when I didn’t before but I doubt I’d notice too much.

Not sure why people get so flustered thinking about being the opposite sex. Other then a few differences biologically the only barriers between the sexes are ones we’ve put there. Just get over it already.

Talk to us!